We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    You will get the CD-booklet with liner notes and photos and the back cover (as PDF files) as a bonus if you buy the whole album.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9.80 USD  or more


Lumumba 08:45
Marvelling 06:47
No Cynicism 05:41
Bwegshit 08:45
Optimism 04:40


Intakt CD 382

Many important drummers are great bandleaders. With their overview and their sense of rhythm and form they show the band the way. The young Swiss drummer Clemens Kuratle has made a name for himself in jazz and pop formations as a sensitive and accomplished musician. Now he has launched Ydivide: a quintet that unites the hip, young British and Swiss jazz scenes. “International bands have existed for many years in the world of improvised music. Exciting things can happen when borders are crossed and curious individuals come together to create their own language in sound, even though they may not have the same mother tongue or cultural references. Ydivide, a fine European ensemble, is a case in point. The discipline of composition and freedom of improvisation steer the music, and the presence or rhythms that crackle with dance-like energy as well as bursts of harmonic turbulence and meditative choruses point to Kuratle‘s embrace of both ‚in‘ and ‚out‘ sounds. Most importantly, his wordless songs are saying something.” writes Kevin Le Gendre in the liner notes.

Reviews: www.intaktrec.ch/rev382.htm
(Please note that reviews usually come in after the official release date)


released August 19, 2022

Dee Byrne: Alto Saxophone
Elliot Galvin: Piano & Electronics
Chris Guilfoyle: Guitar
Lukas Traxel: Bass
Clemens Kuratle: Composition, Drums & Electronics

All compositions by Clemens Kuratle except "Dim the Lights" by Ydivide. Recorded December 29, 2021, at Hardstudios Winterthur by Andy Neresheimer for SRF 2 Kultur and Intakt Records. Mixed in March 2022 at The Nave Studios, Leeds, by Sonny Johns. Mastered in May 2022 by Tom Leader.

Cover art: Collin Sekajugo.
Graphic design: Jonas Schoder.
Liner Notes: Kevin Le Gendre.
Photo: Palma Fiacco.

Produced by Clemens Kuratle and Intakt Records. Executive Producer: Florian Keller. Published by Intakt Records.


all rights reserved



Intakt Records Zurich, Switzerland

Independent Jazz record label located in Zürich.
Intakt CDs by subscription:

contact / help

Contact Intakt Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Lumumba, you may also like: